Changing themes again

The previous one was called Hum, and the thing that bugged me about it was that instead of having a static header at the top (the bit where my blog title is shown, plus links to pages) it was on the left hand side, and I couldn’t add widgets there – all the widgets had to go at the bottom. (I think having some of them at the bottom is cool, but not absolutely all of them.)

I tried living with it for a while, but no, it hasn’t grown on me. So I’m trying Twenty Eleven now (which apparently Hum is based on). I’ve actually used this one before, though not here – there was another blog I set up temporarily for a specific purpose but that’s ended. I think I resisted using Twenty Eleven here for a while because of that – this may sound silly, but I think emotionally I was connecting it to that stuff, and it’s taken a while for me to get to the point where I’m no longer having this emotional reaction.

Anyway, so far so good, though I need to fiddle around a bit with widgets and stuff.

Feel free to let me know if there’s anything you hate about this theme. I’m open to feedback. (Though there’s a limit to how much I can change within the free version.)

9 thoughts on “Changing themes again

  1. hmmm… ok, with this one I still have to put most widgets at the bottom, because the sidebar is only shown on the homepage – you don’t see it if you’re reading a post.

    which is good in that you have less clutter to distract you from reading the post, I guess.

    but I still prefer it to Hum, where there was that static “header” on the left (which was visible when reading a post).

    (One annoying thing though is that it didn’t keep my selection of widgets when I changed, so I’m having to think all over again which ones I want.)

    Like

  2. Regardless of theme, I’m interested in hearing what you have to say. Carry on with whatever format works best for you – your audience will figure it out.

    Like

Comments are welcome

