Happy Multi-birthday to me!

Well well well. Don’t ask how… but I just discovered that today is exactly a year since I signed up here. Amazing now to think that I used to live without Multiply.

When I first joined I didn’t have a clue how I was going to use it. Someone invited me and I thought, okay, let’s see what this is about. At first I stared and thought, what is this for? Then I began to realise – this is a writer’s dream! A blank page on which I can write anything I like and it’s me who chooses what to publish! Wonderful!

So here we are, one year on, and any time I feel a bit of rambling coming on, I come here and ramble… Plus I’ve been making connections with people in a way that for an introvert is absolutely ideal – in my own time, not having to leave the house for it, plenty of time to think in between posts. Yes, this has been really good for me. Thank you Gerry for introducing me to this place! I love it. I feel I was born for blogging!

42 thoughts on “Happy Multi-birthday to me!

  1. Hmmm… have had another look and I think I got it wrong – I think it was actually 12th June and not 4th. Though it was only a few weeks later, after I went onto Broadband, that I really started doing stuff here.

    Like

  2. i really really do not know the date you joined
    and yes, a few weeks later you invited me to join — 2007.Jul.10 — which eventually i did — Aug.1

    in a recent discussion, i posted the link to How Multiply Works (which you have now re-posted ) — and noticed it is dated as "1 year ago" — i can't even begin to describe how stupid that "date" is.

    you wrote –When I first joined– as opposed to when you re-joined? (this question belongs on Word Wizard )

    Like

  3. Haim, that link you mention is what caused my confusion – that message does seem to be perpetually dated "one year ago" so when I clicked on it on 4 June it told me it was dated 4 June last year, but when I clicked on it again on 11 June it said it was dated 11 June last year, which is when I realised I couldn't use that information to determine when it was that I joined Multiply. But I found a clue elsewhere: the "About Me" section on each person's page seems to be dated from the date of joining, and that says 12 June. (I don't have the original email I got as that would have been on the old computer.)

    Like

  4. you wrote –the "About Me" section on each person's page seems to be dated from the date of joining

    my "Welcome Box" (or "About Me") carries no date except the timestamp which i wrote there myself

    Like

  5. Well, I don't know how that happened. Mine has a timestamp which was placed there by Multiply, and on other people's sites here I've seen a similar thing. [shrug](except for snowburst's site, but then she does all sorts of fancy things with css code.)

    Like

  6. Yes, I removed all the dates using css. But if i remove that code, you would see my join date in my welcome area.So did you remove it in some other way to put the time stamp there? Or was it never there?Curiouser and curiouser.

    Like

  7. I just looked at the dom inspector, and whatever theme you're using (clean?), instead of span.update, you have .viewmore (the view all link) in that area. My viewmore link is in the itemboxshadow. That's just because of the theme I chose.

    Like

  8. never there? how would i know, 11 months later?
    i do know i never removed it—"Clean" is supposedly the default Theme
    and is probably mine
    again, how would i know?
    is there someplace they tell me,
    you are currently using Theme = "xxxxx"
    how did you inspect whatever-it-is?
    do tell!

    Like

  9. From Multiply Design, I learned about some Firefox add-ons that can help with customizing my site. They are also used to see the css of others' pages to help them when they have questions. Different people give different ideas on how to fix something or customize something based on what we see. I use a DOM Inspector to help me figure out what the selectors (body, itembox, userlogo, etc) are where I want the elements (background, border, font, color, etc) to take affect. I also use Firebug to see the css of any site. They didn't teach me how to use these. I had to figure it out on my own. But the more I played with my site, the more I learned. From Firebug, I learned that you are using Clean theme. Meirav's just says Default. I thought that Clean was the default. Now I'm curious. Mine used to say Andros (I use Custom Colors and chose Andros as the base), but now it also says Default. Probably due to one of the recent updates they've done on themes.

    Like

  10. Clean is the new default, mine is the old default, which seems to have disappeared whenever it was that they changed to Clean.I also used whatever-this-default-theme's-called as a base and then changed the colour scheme.

    Like

  11. snowburst wrote –instead of span.updateyou have .viewmore (the View All link) in that area
    yes, most of my boxes have "View All" in that area — the "Welcome Box" has "View Profile" — but i didn't do any of that
    so the default changed last year between Jun.12 and Aug.1 ?
    my next request on MUDS ( i.e. never ) –please show us the date we joined !!

    Like

  12. Oh yes, definitely. I don't even remember what the original colour scheme was. I did try using a specific theme at some stage, but Haim complained about the colour scheme that made the text not so readable against the background, so I gave up on that one, went back to what was the default at the time and played around with the colours. That's as far as I've got on the design front, lagging very very far behind you!

    Like

  13. they'd probably tell you that you can choose a theme that shows the updates which would include the date you joined in the welcome title area. people pick different themes for different reasons. i guess that one was designed for people who don't want the updates.

    Like

  14. i haven't installed any Add-Onsbut View Source does show me which CSS i'm using( or which CSS anyone is using !! )the present page uses 4 CSS( no wonder Multiply takes forever to load any page !! )multiply.com/style/site/62.cssmultiply.com/style/local/22.cssmultiply.com/style/custom/default/23.cssmeirav.multiply.com/style-custom/meirav/40/custom.cssthe last one is your ownwhere you're forcing sizes of 14px ( or 12px in Guest-Book )i.e. you insist on pixelsdespite my recommendation to use pointsmeanwhile i looked at my own siteand it only had 3 CSS ( as i had not yet customized )so i did some trivial customizationand now i too have 4 CSSmultiply.com/style/site/62.cssmultiply.com/style/local/22.cssmultiply.com/style/custom/clean/23.cssqhyyim.multiply.com/style-custom/qhyyim/4/custom.cssincidentally i resent their insertion of their stuff into my CSSthey're supposed to keep their stuff in their CSS( which gets invoked ahead of mine )and leave my CSS clean with my stuff onlyitems 1-2 are theirs,only item 3 ( "body" ) is minediv.contentwrapper{background: transparent;}div.bodywrap{background: transparent;}body{font-family: Verdana;font-size: 10pt;}those ridiculously-long URLs aren't necessary —multiply.com/style/sitemultiply.com/style/local multiply.com/style/custom/default[ this one missing at MultiplyDesign ]meirav.multiply.com/style-custom/meirav multiply.com/style/custom/cleanqhyyim.multiply.com/style-custom/qhyyim

    Like

  15. you can always remove the offending CSS

    no i can't,
    it doesn't show when i go to my "Custom CSS"– i only saw the extra stuff when i downloaded the CSS file.
    so i suppose it doesn't really matter,
    i'll always be editing this file via Multiply
    where that extra stuff isn't shown.

    Like

  16. Curious to see what the difference is, I looked up the difference between pixels and points. Apparently, points don't help it render the same on all operating systems either since there is a difference between mac users (1pt=72ppi) and windows users (1pt=96ppi or 120ppi for larger fonts) – and who knows what linux does. I found one site in particular interesting since it let me see how points would match up to pixels. My view matched the default at 96ppi, but when I typed in 72, the points used to matched the pixels for that size made the font huge for me, and 120 made the font tiny.http://www.hpaa.com/css1/pxnpts.aspBTW I found it fascinating that all the articles I read recommended using percentage if a person just had to specify a font size (which they recommended developers not do).

    Like

  17. Oh, and I forgot –I don't know why anything was added since you're not using custom colors where multiply takes member definitions to create the custom css for the user, but you can always remove the offending css. Hi-lite/delete is a beautiful thing. :)

    Like

  18. Apparently, points don't help it render the same on all operating systems either since there is a difference between mac users (1pt=72ppi) and windows users (1pt=96ppi or 120ppi for larger fonts)not so!pixels-per-inch variesbut points-per-inch = 72

    Like

  19. only for mac, not windows –you know, microsoft just has to be different. internet explorer doesn't adhere to web standards either, but most people – at least in this country – are windows and ie users, not mac and ff or safari users.

    Like

  20. set the basic font-size in points( or other units if you prefer ) then for special sections,set a relative size in percent( to make it smaller or larger than the basic size )e.g. font-size: 150%

    Like

  21. ahh – wait. i was consfused. now i get it. 96dpi is about screen resolution not points. mac 1 pixel=1 point. ms 1 pixel=¾ point – see, you are the master.still, to say it has no affect on points is misleading. because my screen has a different resolution that is not 72dpi, I'm going to see your font differently than you will if you're using a mac. that was the point of the link I gave above.

    Like

  22. Oo! Figured out the confusion. You said the dpi would have no affect on the font size if you use points, but your 10pt verdana would render more like 13 pixels on my monitor, so it is affected. Where it's not affected is in print. If you use pixels, then the printer determines the outcome based on the OS and/or the printer, but if you use points, then no matter what the OS, it will print at 72dpi. So no matter how big or small 10 points might look on my screen and yours, both of our printers would print the font on the page the same size whereas our two different printers (and maybe different operating systems) would print out 10 pixels differently depending on how many pixels per inch of the OS and/or printer.

    Like

  23. still, to say it has no affect on points is misleadingright, pixels-per-inch does have some minor effectmy 10pt, at 96 pixels-per-inch, needs 13 pixels and 1/3but pixel is defined as the smallest dot, cannot be dividedso, round it to 13pxwhich means only 9.75pt– an error of 2.5%whereas at 120 pixels-per-inch, needing 16 pixels and 2/3,rounds to 17pxthus increasing to 10.2pt– an error of 2%it would be interesting to compare these( requires 2 screens side-by-side )as they differ 4.5%– would that be noticeable?so, will you give up the commemorative plaque?and just to clarify,all this is much much better than specifying size in pixelse.g. 13px at 96 pixels-per-inch is 9.75pt– but at 120 pixels-per-inch it becomes just 7.8pt

    Like

  24. Well, don't mind me, you two, just carry on :-)
    (No, it's okay, feel free to carry on, just don't expect me to pretend to understand what you're talking about. "Way over my head" is an understatement!)

    Like

  25. the debate is on whether or not snowburst gets a commemorative plaque
    but to decide that, you may indeed have to follow the arithmetic
    whatever happened with alluchka? i thought she was supposed to watch over us while you were away—

    Like

  26. According to Big Brother, she has been keeping an eye on this discussion, but perhaps it has left her speechless. (She does look pretty speechless in her new headshot, don't you think?)

    Like

  27. You really have to ask? Aren't you used to it yet? I don't remember the exact date that you were officially appointed the Official Grown-Up in our family, but there is no way you can shirk that responsibility now.

    Like

  28. It may seem a bit late in the day to be dragging this thread back to the original topic, but I was just looking at my guest-book and found that Gerry posted something there on 10 June 2007 so that might be the date I was looking for. In any case I can't have signed up after 10 June. (Not without a good time machine anyway.)

    Like

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

