but I don’t want to be stylish!

Every once in a while I find myself in need of the brain equivalent of marshmallows and I buy a women’s magazine. Then I sit on the sofa, reading the stuff and arguing with it…

Having sighed through an interview with Jerry Hall, who talks about not liking to have her picture taken now that she’s fat and wrinkly – kind of funny when the article is accompanied by her barbie-like airbrushed photos – I’ve now got to a page where the 71-year-old fashion designer Carolina Herrera talks about dressing well at whatever age you might be.

And here’s the bit that drove me to the keyboard:

Always choose style over fashion: if you want something fashionable but it doesn’t flatter you, put it to one side and wear something that makes you look beautiful. Whatever your age, shape or size, you can always have style.

I’m totally with her about not buying stuff that doesn’t flatter you just because it happens to be in fashion. I stopped being a slave to fashion over a decade ago.

But… style? I’ve just realised, this is exactly why all these women in the pictures in this magazine look so weird to me. They dress with style. And to me that is just so incredibly off-putting, there is no way I’d want to look like that! I don’t want to drive people like me away.

8 thoughts on “but I don’t want to be stylish!

  1. interesting… I guess there's different ways of using the word "style" – I guess you could say my comfortable look is my style really. it's just that it's not what people like that designer would call "stylish"… if she saw how I dress, she'd want to give me a makeover :)

    Like

  2. So tell me, where do you buy the things that suit you apposed to stylish? I'm more than the average size and it appears you're frumpy when you get passed a 14 size. I love classic clothes but where can you get them. Ever tried getting a cardigan without skinny arms? Or a navy classic cardigan with a little difference to a plain ordinary one? Shops make what they want to sell NOT what the customer wants to buy. Perhaps I need to just be a size 14? At 66 years of age my chances are slim (excuse the pun).

    Like

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

