All work and no play makes meirav a big fat lump

no, I don’t mean because of sitting down at my desk too much, I mean because what tends to happen if my Inner Child is needing to play and my Stupid Adult is denying that need, what my Stupid Adult does in order to get my Inner Child to shut up is to say: here are some sweeties, you like those, don’t you, now have these and let me get on with some work…of course this isn’t the only factor in how I gained all these superfluous kilos that I’m now trying to get rid of… but it is one of the factors that I’ve identified and am trying to work on. the reason the sweeties option seems so appealing (apart from the fact that, let’s face it, sweeties are nice) is that it’s so quick, as opposed to the things that my Inner Child is really needing, which do take time – but time well spent, as the end result is I’m a happier bunny and therefore more productive (and also less inclined to snap at people).

another reason is that eating sweeties is something I can do without anyone knowing. so I can pretend to be being grown-up and sensible…

so, you may be asking, what brought this to my mind just now? one reason is because I restarted my diet recently, so the subject of reasons why I eat stuff I shouldn’t eat is more at the forefront of my mind. another reason is because of having finally gone and got this camera – because that was something my Inner Child had been wanting for ages, and my Stupid Adult kept saying stupid things like: do you really need it? why do you need a digital camera when you’ve got a perfectly good camera that works just fine? but, you know what – I don’t think that really is sensible, I think it’s burying your head in the sand and trying to pretend that this little girl inside you that is bouncing up and down and yelling in your ear is just going to go away and shut up if you ignore her long enough, or that you can just keep feeding her chocolates instead. And at the end of the day, you could have bought several digital cameras and possibly a second-hand car with the amount of money you have wasted on chocolates. And taking photos doesn’t make you fat!

Grown-ups – sometimes they just don’t get it…

30 thoughts on “All work and no play makes meirav a big fat lump

  1. If it's any help, dark chocolate has less calories than milk chocolate. And in the US many of my favorites are now available in a sugar free variety that tastes as good as the originals. None of this information has helped my diet but I throw it out there for your consideration.

    Like

  2. thanks, Michael, dark chocolate is something I've been using to keep my chocolate consumption at reasonable levels – I buy Green & Black's dark chocolate with 70% cocoa solids, which is so intense that I just don't feel like eating more and more and more.but when my inner child starts wailing, it says: I don't want that boring grown-up stuff… gimme sickly sweet milk chocolate, and lots of it… gimme bags of m&ms or maltesers, gimme chocolate brownies, gimme ben & jerry's ice cream… if you're not going to give me the play time that I really need.

    Like

  3. I know. I keep trying to tell my inner child that children are best seen and not heard but he just isn't getting the message. Can you get in trouble for spanking your inner child?

    Like

  4. LOLbut seriously, as I'm sure you don't need me to tell you, the best thing is to actually listen to our inner child and give it what it needs, because it is part of us, and a really important part – it's where our creativity comes from! the thing about being a grown-up is that we have to be parents to ourselves, which means setting healthy boundaries and looking after ourselves. a good parent will give the child time to play, but make sure that it also does the homework. a stupid parent (as I've tended to be, but I'm learning) shoves a sweetie at the child as a way of getting it to shut up. a stupid parent tells the child to shut up. a good parent recognises the child's needs and potential.

    Like

  5. mrlaf saiddark chocolate has less calories than milk chocolate. inner child Leigh Ann says, "eeeeeeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwwww! DEEEEEEEEEEE – skusting!"adult Leigh Ann says, "yes, you tend to consume less calories of something when you don't eat the one thing than when you do eat the other." ; )she also says, "i wouldn't waste my money on something so bitter, i'd never eat it … unless it's part of a peppermint patty" : Pheavyrevvy said*shhhhhhhh…. Little Tina is taking a nap*******hopefully not while adult tina is supposed to be working.

    Like

  6. My Inner Child wants to strap on some sidewalk skates (circa 1960) and race down the sidewalk with my hair flying in the breeze! When I used to daily do this (circa 1960) I used to trip on the cracks and skin my knees an awful lot. My Stupid Adult body would possibly break her dang fool neck if she let her Inner Child have her way on this one. I think I will send my Inner Child out to take the dog for a walk now, though. The weather is so beautiful here today!

    Like

  7. oh yes, that's the downside of growing up, your body can't always cope with what your Inner Child wants to do… I know I definitely couldn't sit on the floor and play these days…

    Like

  8. i think we would all be better if our inner child and our outer adult shared the space relatively equally. we'd be thinner, happier, and probably a lot less stressed. as for the dark chocolate, i generally like dark chocolate but i recently got one that was 85% and i felt like i was licking cocoa out of the box! it was awful!!! i don't care if it is good for me. i'd rather eat a carrot.

    Like

  9. i just read an article in today's paper, and finished an article i've had open in a tab for ages, both about preschools that are taking place outdoors exclusively. they have no classroom other than the forest. whether it's raining or snowing or scorching out, they're outdoors. it's kind of a trippy idea. one mom said she left her kid on her first day of school in 28 degree weather and she drove away wondering if she'd gone absolutely mad to do such a thing. but it turned out her daughter had a blast. it's all gotten me to thinking about what i did as a kid during my free time. i did read a lot. and there were times when i watched too much tv. but when we lived in areas with easy access to the outdoors, that's pretty much where i was when i wasn't in school. it was entirely unsupervised, there was no schedule or plan. sometimes i was out there on my own. other times neighborhood kids or my sister would join me. and we spent HOURS outside. … all of this just to say that when it comes to the inner child vs. the older adult, i think the child part of me would get me out the door and into the wild more often if my older adult wasn't constantly 1) tired from doing stuff and 2) forcing my inner child to stay indoors because that's where all my work is piling up.every summer i hope to spend more time outdoors with the kids. maybe *crosses fingers* this years we actually will.

    Like

  10. one of my FB friends recently posted about losing all of her tabs — months worth of back reading that she was hoping to catch up on. it was such a relief to know that others do it too. i managed to clear out a bunch of old tabs this morning, though. whew! it's a good feeling.

    Like

  11. I'm not surprised at what you say, Meg – it seems to me pretty obvious that you are naturally an outdoor girl, and that's where your inner child will want to be. which is probably one reason why you enjoy gardening – it's a great excuse for grown-ups to let their inner child out to play.

    Like

  12. it's happened to me before, too. on a positive note, i can't even remember what was on those tabs. so i don't feel like it was any great loss. … of course, i'm sure if i'd actually made it through the posts i would have had all sorts of juicy tidbits to bring to multiply to chat about. but, oh well. i haven't had time for proper chatting in awhile anyway. (i have high hopes that i'll start having time next week or soon thereafter. *crosses fingers*)

    Like

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

