WordPress vs. Multiply – comparing apples and oranges

I keep posting little snippets about great things I’m discovering on WordPress – it’s fantastic for blogging, it really makes setting up a blog and writing one so fun and easy that I’ve gone and set up a couple of blogs in Hebrew on WP just because it’s such fun.

But it doesn’t do a lot of stuff that Multiply does – well, it’s not really aiming to. Multiply is a social networking site so it offers a whole load of features that a purely blogging site wouldn’t. On WP any blog you set up is either totally public or totally private – unlike here, where we can choose different access settings per post. (Which means that here we can use the same place as a soapbox and also as a way of, for instance, sharing family photos with our relatives in other countries. On WP you’d have to set up two separate blogs if you wanted to do that.) And they have no equivalent to our PM – you can’t send a private message to a blogger on WP.

But what I’m missing there most of all is The Great Multiply Inbox – it is so much more of a faff to keep track of other people’s blogs there! yes, you can subscribe to someone’s blog, and then you have to remember to click every now and again to check what’s new on the blogs you’re subscribed to (ok, I guess I could have that page constantly open as a browser tab, just like I do with my multiply inbox – though I don’t know if the WP subscribed blogs page updates live or not) and there’s no way to mark one as read so that it will come off your list, no quick and easy way to check out just one of them (we’re so spoiled with the filters here). What I do like is that they show a summary or the beginning of the post (depending on each blogger’s settings – you can say how much will come over on the feed – I mean it depends on the settings the blogger I’m reading has set up. so with one I see just one line and with another I see a much larger chunk).

And then there’s keeping track of posts you’ve replied to… *sigh* – yes, there is a place where that is listed, but you have to keep going to different places for different things, and I’m used to it all being in one place.

There are other ways, of course. You can subscribe by email instead of adding it to your WP subscriptions. You can subscribe by email to new comments on a post you’re replying to, but you have to remember to do that each time – it’s not automatic. You can also use RSS Feed – for the whole blog and separately for comments. I’ve done that with a couple of WP blogs and that works pretty well – am beginning to think maybe that’s the best answer. I don’t like getting all that sort of stuff on the email, it’s fiddly going back and forth between web browser and email.

Oh, and the other thing is that if I use RSS feed instead of the WP subscription, the bloggers I subscribe to won’t know about it. Which is less nice for friends who are blogging there who might need encouragement.

*sigh* I guess there’s no place like home

36 thoughts on “WordPress vs. Multiply – comparing apples and oranges

  1. from my wandering, for what i thought was a boring site i am really surprised sometimes when i go to a site to see that it is a wordpress site and it seems like wordpress sites come up a lot in google searches , do u know when word press was created?

    Like

  2. I don't know how long it's been around, I've been aware of it for a while – through friends telling me they're using it, and also there are blogs that interest me which happen to be on WP. It's basically a blogging site and each blog has its own character, it's very very easy to personalise your blog there. but it's not like Multiply, with all this interaction between people, the contacts lists and groups and so on – it's purely blogging, no social side.

    Like

  3. yes, well, unlike multiply, on wordpress you can normally comment on people's blogs without being a member yourself. (depends on each blogger's settings. when you blog there you can choose if you want to allow non-wp people to comment; also if you want to insist that commenters provide their email address. the setting I've seen everywhere is to demand an email address but not insist on a wordpress account. that's also how I set mine up.)

    Like

  4. it's private in the sense that it doesn't show on the page – only the person whose blog it is gets to see it, not the whole world that's reading the blog. (but I think it's best to have a separate email address for stuff like that, so that you're not identifying yourself personally to each blogger – just because you like someone's blog that doesn't mean you trust them. so I use a separate gmail address for that sort of thing. it doesn't even give them my real first name, just a nickname I made up.)

    Like

  5. i did not know that they could see it, i mean i knew WP boss people could, but not the blog owner , sooooo can you block email addresses from being able to comment on your WP blog? and thanks i will definitely make another email just for that,

    Like

  6. this is only a wordpress.com thing, right? when i'm signed into my wordpress.org / private domain i don't have a "my account" option. there's a profile section, but it doesn't have anything like this available. most of the wordpress sites that i come across when i'm googling for something are wordpress.org, not .com.

    Like

  7. oh, oops, that was a page in Hebrew, that won't get you very far… but basically what I understand is that .org is where people download the software themselves, and .com is the one where we let the clever WP people do all that side of things for us.

    Like

  8. yes. essentially..org is where you can buy your own domain but use wordpress software to run everything. so it's easier to use than if you had to html it all yourself, but it works like a regular website where you can put whatever you want wherever you want without restriction (like javascript). if you go to a business site and their using wordpress, it's most likely a .org site.

    Like

  9. so back to the apples and oranges thing — with wordpress you can link directly to your own domain. that's cool. but it's even harder to follow changes on the blog unless you get email alerts or use an RSS feed, neither of which works well for new comments on posts you've never commented on, or on posts you've commented on but forgot to click the secondary button that alerts you to new comments on the post.

    Like

  10. it's still doable if you haven't commented or if you forgot to click – you can still go to the specific post and click on the rss link for comments on that post. I know I've done it, on someone's blog that is a .org – took me a while to find the link but it was there.so basically it's more fiddly than here to keep track of posts and comments but through rss feed you can make it work.

    Like

  11. you mean adding a feed for that specific post? if so, that's what i mean. i subscribe to a site and get an alert for each new post. but if i want to be updated about comments i have to first make a comment then i have to select that i want to see updates on future comments. (now i'm getting confused. i'm going to have to wait till one of my friends posts again and then i'll check and confirm that she's on a wordpress site. i might be confusing it with typepad now.)

    Like

  12. but it may be that it isn't standard, I don't know. I've seen it on the three Hebrew WP blogs I follow – two of them are .com and one is a private domain through .org – but it may depend on the theme or settings they use.

    Like

  13. the one i'm working on for the church (ok, so i'm not really working. i set it up and haven't done anything since because the pastor hasn't given me the go ahead to make the change over) is http://cornerstonefortcollins.org/blog/and there's this local history site: http://www.lostfortcollins.com i get email updates whenever there's anything new on this one, but if i want to get comments then i have to make a comment and then ask to have updates sent.

    Like

  14. hmmm… have just looked at the LostFortCollins site and I can't even see a plain ordinary rss feed link for all posts, let alone one for comments on a specific one… I guess it depends how they set up their site. weird not to have an rss feed link :(

    Like

  15. i haven't put one in. i think i had comments turned on for some posts but go so much spam that i just deleted them. there's a new post there, but i don't remember if it has comments. do you get much spam? how do you avoid it?

    Like

  16. ok, back to that issue of having an rss feed link under each post for comments on that post – I've done a little testing and it looks like it depends on the theme you use. some have it and some don't. (two themes that do have it: MistyLook and Pool.) (no, I haven't checked each and every one… they have zillions…)

    Like

  17. i'm not a big fan of rss feeds. it means that you need to use some sort of rss reader. i usually use FB as a reader instead. (often people have a FB account with their blog posts set up to feed to their page). or i have new posts come to me by email. i don't know that old fashioned feed readers have much of a future. (i looked up one recently that i used to use just to see how it was doing. it's gone.)

    Like

  18. I've been using Google Reader and it works well for me. I can't say I love it, it's just a functional thing that sits there and does a job that I need it to do. nothing fun about it, but I find it very useful. I would hate to have all that extra stuff in my fb news feed, and I don't like getting a whole load of stuff by email either, it clutters out personal emails. and it's just not intuitive for me to go back and forth from the mailbox to the internet browser. the feed reader sits there in one of my browser tabs, and all I need is to click on a post and I'm there. and I can sort my subscriptions into folders that make sense to me. it works. it's not beautiful but it works. I do hope it won't die out.

    Like

  19. i've used google reader before. i used to have google set up so that the feeds would ride just below the search bar when i'd go to look for something. but i have so many blogs that i follow that i'd only see the few at the top and i'd miss the rest. i tried using a feed reader where the lastest posts pop to the top, but then you have to remember to go to the feedreader in the first place. i go to FB anyway. and between friends posting their blog posts and local businesses posting news, it works out well for me. i just wish FB's feed would stop showing you posts you've viewed. it's a pain in the buttootee to keep scrolling back through every time i come back from reading something. (usually it opens in a new tab. but sometimes it stays in FB and just switches pages. then i have to work my way back to where i was. and i've noticed that i'll see a post in FB, then i scroll and see it again, then i scroll and see it again. it lists some things several times and it doesn't list other things unless i keep refreshing the page. i hate their feed. hate it. but it still keeps everything all together for me. if i could feed it all in here instead, i'd do it in a heartbeat.)

    Like

  20. yes, the fb feed is a pain for the reasons you've mentioned. and one of the things Google Reader does do for me is it marks things as read so I can easily see just stuff I haven't read yet, it also allows me to mark a post as read if I decide I don't want to read it. and even to mark something as unread again.

    Like

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

