Note to Self

Just because someone has asked me a question,
it doesn’t mean I have to engage with it.

And it most definitely doesn’t mean I have to engage with it right now.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

This kind of relates to the Someone Is Wrong on the Internet syndrome – I’ve been having to learn not to always respond, not to always stay with the conversation, not to feel I have to react to each and every post or comment I see which is wrong (even when they are infuriatingly wrong and misleading), I’ve been having to train myself to walk away, to recognise that it’s not up to me to correct everybody, and anyway, a lot of the time they don’t listen so it’s pointless.

But now there’s this extra lesson: someone asks me a question, but no, this doesn’t mean I have to drop everything else and think through the issue they’ve raised. I have stuff to do. I have an agenda. Just like in public talks, there’s a limited time for the question&answer session, so in my blogging life, so in life generally – I can’t allow other people’s questions to take over, to dictate what I’ll be devoting my time and energy to.

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

