It’s just a matter of perspective

It all started from talking about Chinese New Year, how it’s a lunar calendar so their new year falls on a different date each year according to the Gregorian calendar, and I said, oh yes, it’s the same with us, the Jewish year is lunar too, and the Chinese lady said that in Hong Kong they have calendars showing both dates and I said, oh yes, we do that in Israel, we have calendars showing the Hebrew date as well as the other one and then, later on, one of the English people said to me:

So is Jewish New Year a moveable feast?

No, I said, as I always tell people: Jewish New Year is on the same date every year, on the first day of the month of Tishrei. It may look to you as though it moves, but that’s because you’re using a different calendar, that’s all.

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

