Laying down boundaries can be scary sometimes.

Laying down boundaries can be scary sometimes.

because I don’t want to seem horrible. and obviously, I don’t want to lose friends and stuff.

but at the same time…

if you never say no to anything anyone asks you, you’ll burn out, because, guess what, you can’t do everything everybody wants. there just aren’t enough hours in the day.

and sometimes, what the other person is asking of you is actually something they shouldn’t be asking of you, it’s something they should be doing themselves, and if you keep “helping” them, you’re not actually being helpful, you’re just providing them with a crutch when they should be learning to walk without one.

(yes, I’ve been reading Boundaries again. I wonder if this time round I’ll get to the end of the book. It’s a really good book, but I have this attention span thing – you know how it goes: this is really interesting, and ooh, there’s a butterfly! I think it comes with the territory of being an INFP.)

2 thoughts on “Laying down boundaries can be scary sometimes.

  1. I was reading along here and I thought, “Oh, I wonder if she has read “Boundaries”? Hang in there with your boundaries.

    And I think some of those butterflies live near me, too. :>}

    Like

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

