Declaration of Dependence

Why pray? why bring my requests to God, if he already knows what I need, and he loves me and wants to give me what I need? What’s the point?

One point is this: praying is a way of saying that I need God’s help, declaring my utter dependence on him for everything. It’s also a way of reminding myself of my dependence on God.

What is your first thought when you wake up? Mine is quite often something along the lines of: I can’t do this. I can’t cope with this day. I can’t cope with life. It all feels too much. Some might say this isn’t a good attitude, but the way I see it, it’s actually a pretty realistic approach and it saves me from falling flat on my face when I try to do it all in my own, limited strength. I start out from a position of recognising my limitations, acknowledging that in my own strength I can’t cope. That means there’s more of a chance that I’ll remember to ask God for help as I go along.

Giving thanks is the other side of this coin – acknowledging that all good things come from God, thanking him for everything because without him I’d have nothing. (This is something I have to work at, I don’t do it often enough. I’m a lot more prone to grumbling about what I don’t have than counting my blessings. Thank you, God, for your amazing patience. You have given me so much – please help me to build better habits of gratitude.)

That’s why I’ve chosen in some places online to identify myself with a picture of a frog – FROG stands for: Fully Reliant On God.

frog

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

