So it turns out that my earlier Testing post resulted in an email going out to my subscribers, which is not all that brilliant, considering that the post was set as password-protected. Not very nice, getting an email telling you about a new post and then finding you can’t access said post. Sorry!!!
I was just testing something out here, thinking this could be a way of replicating something I’ve been used to doing on the soon-to-be-extinct Multiply, where you can set different posts with different privacy levels so that you can use the same place for posting public stuff and also private stuff (e.g. just for your friends/family/knitting circle). So I did a test post and gave the password to a friend so she could tell me if this method works.
Bottom line: the method works, but if all my subscribers get notified every time I do it, then no, I’m not going to use this option.
EDIT: Also, if someone visits my blog they will see the post title with a notice saying that it’s password-protected. This is just so totally not how I want to play it. I don’t want people coming to my blog and seeing a sign saying: there is stuff I’ve put here but it’s not for you. That’s no way to welcome people to a blog. I’m deleting that Testing post now, it really is the most tactless thing I’ve seen in ages.