Apologies

So it turns out that my earlier Testing post resulted in an email going out to my subscribers, which is not all that brilliant, considering that the post was set as password-protected. Not very nice, getting an email telling you about a new post and then finding you can’t access said post. Sorry!!!

I was just testing something out here, thinking this could be a way of replicating something I’ve been used to doing on the soon-to-be-extinct Multiply, where you can set different posts with different privacy levels so that you can use the same place for posting public stuff and also private stuff (e.g. just for your friends/family/knitting circle). So I did a test post and gave the password to a friend so she could tell me if this method works.

Bottom line: the method works, but if all my subscribers get notified every time I do it, then no, I’m not going to use this option.

 

EDIT: Also, if someone visits my blog they will see the post title with a notice saying that it’s password-protected. This is just so totally not how I want to play it. I don’t want people coming to my blog and seeing a sign saying: there is stuff I’ve put here but it’s not for you. That’s no way to welcome people to a blog. I’m deleting that Testing post now, it really is the most tactless thing I’ve seen in ages.

5 thoughts on “Apologies

  1. Aw, I wouldn’t mind getting an email like that. When it happened today, I just figured you were trying something out and didn’t want it posted to the whole world. Didn’t bother me a bit. :>}

    Like

  2. Have just edited this posted to add:

    Also, if someone visits my blog they will see the post title with a notice saying that it’s password-protected. This is just so totally not how I want to play it. I don’t want people coming to my blog and seeing a sign saying: there is stuff I’ve put here but it’s not for you. That’s no way to welcome people to a blog. I’m deleting that Testing post now, it really is the most tactless thing I’ve seen in ages.

    Like

    • I hadn’t looked at it that way. Maybe that “Testing” did have something to do with my reaction. Hmm.

      Your edit gives me some good info. I had thought about doing some videos and adding them to my blog, but they were going to be password-protected and only for my grand kids. I didn’t realize there were be a title with a notice. I wouldn’t want that either.

      Like

      • That’s why I thought it was worth sharing what I’d discovered – to save other people learning this the hard way. I think the answer is that if we want to post some things privately, it’s better to set up a separate blog for that, one that would be set to whatever privacy level you want. (I have one that I’ve set as totally private, just for me, and I use it for personal journalling.)

        Like

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

