Love the email comment updates on LiveJournal!

I have an account on LJ which I set up just for keeping in touch with a friend who posts there. Was really really pleased today to see that if I comment on a post on LJ and someone replies, I get an email not just telling me there’s a new comment, not only giving me the full text of the comment, but also telling me who the comment is by, and also giving me links for all these different things I might possibly want to do:

  • View the thread starting from this comment
  • View the thread this comment is a part of
  • View all comments to this entry
  • Reply at the webpage

Top marks to LiveJournal – I don’t think I’ve ever seen such excellent comment updates anywhere else! Nor have I ever seen a platform that enables you to actually view just one thread on a post – that’s just fabulous!

9 thoughts on “Love the email comment updates on LiveJournal!

  1. I have had a LiveJournal site for years and have yet to have a comment, so I hadn't seen that. So far, WordPress is the place where people are commenting. Blogger and LJ seem to be dead ducks socially. I don't much like my layout on LJ. Years ago, I put a sticky post there as an 'about me' that is now hopelessly out of date and I can't find any way to remove it or change it.

    Like

  2. I have had a LiveJournal site for years and have yet to have a comment, so I hadn't seen that. So far, WordPress is the place where people are commenting. Blogger and LJ seem to be dead ducks socially. I don't much like my layout on LJ. Years ago, I put a sticky post there as an 'about me' that is now hopelessly out of date and I can't find any way to remove it or change it.

    Like

  3. I haven't explored much on LJ, have only been using it for keeping up with posts by one friend who pretty much lives there, and she seems to have plenty of friends who are active there, I always see plenty of comments on her posts. It hasn't grabbed me, but there are some positive features I've noticed – they let you set different privacy settings per post (like we can here), and you can subscribe to a particular tag on someone's posts, so for example if you have a friend who posts about crochet, cooking and chocolate but you're only interested in the crochet, you can sign up for updates just on that.

    Like

  4. and what about the joys of the LJ cut – Meirav. It is one of the best features for many of us.Example; a friend posts a whole load of photos of her trip to the end of the pier amateur sock throwing contest. I'm not interested. but when i look at my 'friends page' I see her post 'my day out' with a description and 'photos under the cut' – I don't have to see them.

    Like

  5. Sorry, I didn't get a notification of further comments on this blog. Go Multiply! In Livejournal, you have the option to create a sticky note that stays as your 'first post', always visible at the top of your blogs, so you can use it as an 'about me' if you like. You can see the sticky on my page: http://tintalasia.livejournal.com/. It's right at the top and hopelessly out of date and I can't find a way to edit it. I keep meaning to look into it further, but getting sidetracked =Þ

    Like

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

