Don’t sweat the small stuff? really?

I woke up and looked at my alarm clock. It told me what the time was – well, roughly… I need to check sometime which of my various clocks has the right time – the one in the kitchen is a few minutes different to the one on my computer, and the one in the car tends to need adjusting now and again, and since I hardly ever listen to the news on the radio, I hardly ever get to find out which of all my various time-indicating devices is correct.

But I don’t worry about it too much, because I’m not leading the sort of life in which every second counts, and as long as I know roughly what the time is, as long as the error is on the scale of just a few minutes, I’m okay with that.

On the other hand, if I was a soldier having to report for duty at 05:32:03, having my watch set to the right time would be a lot more important. If you’re part of a battle plan and it involves different things happening at different times, coordination is important and a few minutes, or even seconds sometimes, could make a big difference.

So when people call me pedantic and say I should chill a bit more and not obsess too much over details – I say that really depends on the situation. Details can sometimes matter.

Lynne Truss gave a lovely example of the difference a comma can make and used it in the title of her book: Eats, Shoots & Leaves. The story, in case you don’t know it, is about a panda who read a badly punctuated encyclopaedia and, misled by a superfluous comma, got the wrong end of the stick about how he is supposed to behave. The result was a shooting incident at a restaurant.

When I do proofreading, part of my job is to prevent misunderstandings. Bad punctuation can, as Lynne Truss showed, completely change the meaning of a sentence. So yes, these details matter. (Though when I blog I don’t completely stick to the rules, as I feel this medium is a more relaxed one, and as long as my rule-breaking doesn’t make my writing less clear, I feel ok with that. I am totally aware, for example, that my use of ellipses is incorrect, but my readers still get what I mean…)

When you use a map or a GPS for navigating to a place you’re not familiar with, you need the details to be right or you can end up getting totally lost. This is as opposed to, say, sketching a map just as an illustration for a story, or just to give someone an idea of how far your house is from the supermarket.

This sort of thing comes up in Christian circles, when we look at what a Bible verse means – being a Hebrew speaker, I get to sometimes be that annoying person who says: but that word isn’t in the text; or: but that’s not what this word means. And sometimes people think I’m just picking at insignificant detail – and I’m sure there are times when I am… but there are also times when the detail matters. It depends on what sort of conclusions we’re drawing from the text – is it a case of a bad GPS that can lead us to the wrong destination, or is it like my alarm clock being just a few minutes off? The fact that the Hebrew word for “green” does not appear in Psalm 23, for example, is something I see as no more than an interesting detail – I haven’t heard anyone drawing any significant theological conclusions from the word “green” being in the English translation. But I have sometimes heard people draw conclusions from stuff like “notice this verse begins with the word but” and in those situations I will jump up and say: sorry, the original text doesn’t have the word but. If you’re going to draw conclusions from the details, then the details do matter.

One thought on “Don’t sweat the small stuff? really?

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

