half-asleep praise

Didn’t get enough sleep last night, and my computer is badly misbehaving, and… I found myself thinking back to that short worship time we had at home group yesterday, each of us offering thanks to God for stuff he has done for us, and I thought: even if my computer doesn’t survive this crisis, even if I lose data – I still have plenty to be thankful for. All the stuff that I was feeling thankful for last night, before I came home and switched the computer on and got those weird error messages and all that – all that stuff is still totally valid.

Thank you, God, for giving me a home to live in, a husband who loves me and understands me, a whole load of mod cons that make my life much easier than my mum’s life, for friends, for the beauty of creation, for pretty flowers and butterflies and sunsets and rainbows, for cute fluffy animals, for cats, for the changing seasons and the splendour of autumn colours, for keeping my family safe, for the camera, for the ability to express myself well in writing, for the ability to communicate with the rest of the world through the internet – there is so much, I could go on… Thank you for running water, for electricity, for clothes to wear and food to eat…

More than anything, thank you for loving me enough to send Jesus to die and take the punishment that I deserved, so that I can live without being weighed down by guilt. Thank you that because of Jesus, I know I’m forgiven and I know I’ll be ok when the day of judgement comes. Thank you that through him I can enjoy a loving relationship with you, the Creator of the Universe, and come to you with all my problems. Thank you that the stuff that seems daunting and baffling to me is not daunting or baffling to you. Thank you that even though I may feel half asleep because of the weird night I had, you are never drowsy or fuzzy-headed.

Whatever happens to my computer and to my data, I know you are 100% faithful, reliable, trustworthy, and in control.

Lord, please make my computer well again. But even if you don’t, still I will worship you. Where else can I go? You have the words of eternal life.

 

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

