The Game

How much will you pay
for that nice warm feeling
how much for a temporary
short-lived glow
of feeling as though
everyone likes you

short-lived because
as soon as you pause to think
you will hear yourself say the truth:
they like this exterior show I put on
they don’t like the real me
they’ve never seen the real me
because I’m too busy putting on
this show all the time
never daring to show
when I’m angry
or hurt
or
heaven forbid
when I don’t agree with the herds

no, I won’t play the game
I won’t pay that price
it’s not worth what I’d get in return
I will show my true self, whether you like it or not
if you don’t, I will show you the door
there’ll be fewer people left
but it will be the best party in town.

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

