Guilt trip? No, thanks

So I’m reading a blog by a fellow Christian who is talking about why we should all find time to do X (I’m deliberately leaving that blank, as my grumble isn’t about that specific thing she mentions – it’s about a general principle) and then, talking about a particular phase in her life when she had to make lots of sacrifices so that she could dedicate time to doing X, she says that her husband “understood perfectly why I was doing what I was doing, that I was fulfilling God’s call on my life and investing my time in an important way” – and I think: yes, you were fulfilling God’s call on your life, and that’s great, but his call on my life may be different. His call on my life is different.

So please don’t try to put a guilt trip on me by saying I should also find the time to do that thing that you felt so strongly called to devote your time to – we each have 24 hours a day and no more, we each have our limits in other ways, we each have to use our time and abilities wisely and we can none of us do everything. Just as you had to weigh things up and decide what you could sacrifice so that you could devote your time to that particular thing, in the same way it’s up to me to weigh up different things that I could spend my time on and to prioritise according to what I hear God telling me to do. Sure, I could, in theory, make time to do that stuff that you did – but I would be left without time or energy for the stuff that God has equipped me for, the stuff that he calls me to do.

We’re all different. If the ear says to the eye “you should devote your time to listening”, then who will do the looking and seeing? If the eye says to the ear “you should devote your time to watching”, then who will listen?

You do your bit. I’ll do mine. And let’s not lay unnecessary guilt trips on one another.

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

