The Old Map

A conversation with a Christian friend just reminded me of this allegory I wrote a long while ago. It kind of illustrates part of my faith journey:

When I first met God and started reading the Bible, I was very excited. But my excitement was dampened by people around me – who sincerely regarded themselves as Christians – who seemed to take it all with a big pinch of salt. It was only 12 years later – back home in Israel – that I finally met a bunch of people who take the Bible seriously. It was a huge relief to find that yes, it is okay to believe this stuff!

Meirav's Blog Archive

Just found something I wrote back in 2002, around the time when I was finally born again after 12 years in the church. (I wrote about this here.)

Imagine this…

You’ve heard of a very beautiful and special town and you’ve decided you want to go there. You ask someone for directions, someone who seems to know about that town. He takes you on a train and, after a few stops, says, ‘OK, this is where we get off.’

You get off the train and begin to settle in in this new place. You find somewhere to live, get a job, and find out where the shops are. There’s an old map you’ve carried with you, a map you found in the library back home – this map had sparked your interest in that special town and made you want to go there. But as you try to use…

View original post 177 more words

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

