Why

why?
because he is wonderful
but not just that
also because
he is the only answer

why?
because he is
the only way
but not just that
also because
he is wonderful

people sometimes wonder why I keep doing this, why do I blog about Jesus when the world around me would much prefer me to shut up, when the general consensus in western society is: don’t talk about religion,

keep your faith to yourself, whatever rocks your boat it’s fine as long as you let us all carry on believing that anything goes, that there’s no one true way, that there are zillions of ways to heaven or maybe heaven doesn’t exist at all and all that matters is being happy here and now – but if your faith makes you happy then we’re ok with that as long as you don’t try and convince us that your faith is based on something true and real and rock solid and that we might have got it wrong.

why do I keep speaking out despite all this? because I care about you enough to want to warn you of the very serious and real danger you’re in – you’re on your way to hell and Jesus is the only way out. I want you to know that, I want you to grab hold of the lifebelt before it’s too late and you drown.

but is it just because of that? I’ve had people pose this question to me – is this the only reason I follow Jesus? and the answer is no, there’s a lot more. He is my saviour, and that in itself is huge, he is the way to heaven but he is also the way to a taste of heaven here and now. if you wait till your deathbed before turning to him for salvation you will still be saved, but you’ll have missed out on so much in the meantime!

you see, once you put your faith in Jesus and are born again, you become God’s child and you’re never alone again. in all the struggles of life, in all the pain and heartache and difficulties, you can know he is with you. you can turn to the Creator of the Universe with whatever is on your mind, and know that he will hear you and that he cares about what goes on in your life.

will he make everything in your life smooth and wonderful and pain-free? no. will he be with you when you are going through pain and suffering and difficulties? yes, definitely. will he understand how you feel? always. he made you, and not only that, but Jesus went through all of this himself – there’s nothing we suffer that is worse than what he went through, he knows not just physical pain but also the emotional side, he knows what it’s like to be mocked, rejected, humiliated, misunderstood, falsely accused, treated unjustly… this God of whom I speak is not some distant being, remote and unfeeling, unreachable, someone you just hope to maybe please but never really know – no, the God of whom I speak is loving and caring and wanting to communicate with us, he is the one who made human beings in his image and when we sinned, his reaction was still to try and communicate and to call us back from our rebellion. this God who had walked in the garden and talked with Adam (that’s the intimate relationship we lost through that sin, and it’s that intimate relationship we can get back when we turn to Jesus, who is the only way to the Father) – this God, after Adam sinned, was calling him: Adam, where are you? this wasn’t a request for GPS info, we’re talking about the omniscient God, who knows everything. he was inviting Adam to a conversation, giving him a chance to turn back.

I always get tearful when I think about that moment in our history. Such a super sad moment, when our great-great-great-etc-grandfather made that terrible choice, for which the whole world has been paying ever since – the whole world, not just humanity. We’re living in a terribly messed-up world, with so much pain and suffering, and all because Adam and Eve chose to rebel and didn’t turn back.

But God loves us, and he doesn’t want any of us to stay in that horrible state. He is still calling. Where are you?

6 thoughts on “Why

  1. The consensus is ‘don’t talk about religion’ because when you do so people are made to feel embarrassed.

    It’s embarrassing for them to have to listen to and avoid offending someone they know and, presumably, like and respect as she tries to convince them that Adam and Eve are historical figures on a par with William the Conqueror and Abraham Lincoln, that diseases and natural disasters wouldn’t exist at all if only those two pesky ancestors of ours had told the serpent where to shove his tempting words, and that a death camp guard who turns to Jesus on his deathbed will be ‘saved’ while his thousands of victims, who held to their own faiths while they suffered, will burn in hell. I’m sure you DO believe those things, but most people regard them as incredible, and they’re unlikely to come around to your way of thinking if in order to do so they have to set aside physics, geology, evolutionary biology, historical enquiry, archaeology and nearly two centuries of comparative religion and Biblical research. They’re just too polite to say so out loud. Instead, they cringe.

    Like

    • you say most people regard what I believe as incredible – yes.

      you say they’re unlikely to come around to my way of thinking – yet I did come round this way of thinking, and so did many people I know, and would we have come round without anyone trying to tell us? without conversations with people who held different points of view? I’m thankful that I did meet people who believed differently to me, and that I had an open mind. And I’m totally ok with people feeling embarrassed sometimes. That’s part of life. We all say things that embarrass other people – would you tell gay people to shut up about their sexuality so as not to make others cringe?

      Like

      • I wouldn’t, no, and neither would most of us hell-bound secularists. We leave that sort of thing to certain religious groups and Vladimir Putin.

        In any case the analogy is flawed. A gay person who tells you they’re gay is simply stating a bald fact, on a par with telling you they’re five feet tall and have blue eyes. Granted, there are some people about who are simply ‘freaked’ by homosexuality and feel very uncomfortable when confronted by the fact that the person they’re talking to is gay, but that in itself isn’t a good enough reason to gag gay people. Religious beliefs, however, are ‘propositional’: you can state them, adduce evidence in favour of them, argue over them and, as you suggest, be persuaded of their truth. And because of that we tend to see people as being in a way ‘responsible’ for their beliefs, and to be surprised, or angry, or amused when someone expresses beliefs that are very out of step with broadly conventional thinking. That’s just a natural human reaction, of course, and it in no way reflects on the truth or falsity of the beliefs in question. In making my point above I was simply responding to the remark you made in your original post, to the effect that people in the West seem to prefer not to talk about religion, and offering a partial explanation for why that is the case.

        Like

        • “Granted, there are some people about who are simply ‘freaked’ by homosexuality and feel very uncomfortable when confronted by the fact that the person they’re talking to is gay, but that in itself isn’t a good enough reason to gag gay people.” – that is exactly the point I was making. Just because people may feel uncomfortable about something, that doesn’t in itself mean you should shut up about it. Of course I’m not suggesting that the two issues are identical, it was just the first example that came to my mind of a subject that people are bringing out into the open in fighting the old consensus which said: hush hush, don’t talk about that, let’s pretend it’s not there.

          In my post I talked about my reasons for feeling strongly that I should talk about this stuff even though others may prefer me to shut up.

          Like

          • As it happens I completely agree with you: you can and should talk to people about your beliefs. It’s just that what piqued my interest in the original post was your observation that people in the West are often reluctant to talk about religion, so I’ve tended to focus on that point rather than on the main thrust of what you wrote. I do believe that social embarrassment is a factor, although there are others. But it’s unfair of me to bang on about a side issue to your post and distract readers from its main message, so I should bow out now – with good wishes of course.

            Liked by 1 person

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

