How about doing it now?

I’ve never thought of myself as a perfectionist, but…

The past couple of weeks or so, I’ve come to realise: I have this thing about putting things off, waiting for the perfect moment – some things, not everything obviously, just things that are not urgent and not essential, things that I know in theory it would be good for me to do but hey, right now I don’t feel up to whatever-it-is, right now my brain isn’t in the right gear for this, right now I’m not in the right frame of mind…

So what I’m starting to learn now is: do it now. It might not be the perfect moment, but, you know, if you keep waiting for the perfect moment you’ll probably never ever read that book/write that thing/listen to that sermon/go for that walk/create that picture/etc etc etc. And if you do it right now, even though you feel like it’s not an ideal time, it will be a lot better than not doing it at all.

Funnily, in my blogging life I’ve been practising this principle all the time – I learned early on that if I leave a post in draft form, intending to polish it when I’m up to it, the post will very likely remain forever in draft form. I know that if I am to blog at all, I have to do it spontaneously, edit straight away and hit Publish before I lose my nerve. The same goes for what I do on Google+, but even more so – on the blog I’m more intentional and a lot more selective, whereas on G+ I just dump any thought that comes to mind. (Not so much on Twitter, but that’s because it takes me a lot longer to compose a short tweet. Sound bites are so very much not my forté. Born to ramble – that’s me.)

Speaking of rambling, where was I? Oh yes. Doing it now rather than waiting for the perfect moment – that’s what I’ve started to practise, and it’s been seriously amazing! I even started reading that book… the one I keep thinking I really could do with reading but I need to be in the right frame of mind… The thing I’ve realised is: if I read it when I’m not in the right frame of mind, then what’s the worst that can happen? I might get less out of it than if I read it in the right frame of mind. I might digest it less well. I might not learn quite as much as if I read it in that ideal state – but compared to not reading it at all, it’s still a good deal. Compared to that elusive perfection, sure, it won’t be great. But compared to “nothing whatsoever”, which is the answer to “how much will I get out of it if I wait forever for the elusive perfect moment?” – compared to that, if I learn even a tiny little bit, it will be worth it.

And now I’m looking for a perfect way to end this post, and… I reckon this’ll do :)

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

