What the hell is religion good for?

I was looking for something else and came across this old post, so here you go.

Meirav's Soapbox

I’ve been drafting this on and off for a while, ever since I came across a post online that said: “Religion is for people who don’t want to go to hell when they die”, and then compared it unfavourably with “spirituality” – a term which I feel people use in so many different ways that I can’t even begin to engage with statements about it.

Religion is also a term I struggle with, people use it in different ways and by some definitions I count as a religious person and by others I don’t. But I think that in the context of that post, I would count as religious. And yes, I’m relying on my faith in Jesus as my passport to heaven, but is this what I’m in it for? Is this what attracted me about this faith? No, not really.

And there are religious people for whom…

View original post 1,685 more words

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

