It’s hard to “fav” tweets when you tend to take words literally

It took me a while to get my head round the use of the Fav feature on Twitter – to realise that despite what the word “favourite” means, the Fav button is just the Twitter equivalent of a Like or a +1 and it’s not like you’re saying: hey, this tweet is one of my top favs ever and I want to frame it and cherish it forever…

And to add to my confusion, I noticed that when someone visits your profile they can see the tweets you’ve faved. So to start with I was being very careful, thinking of it as some kind of hall of fame – like I’m showcasing my top favourite tweets of all time…

What got me out of this was osmosis: seeing how other people do it, and gradually learning that no, faving a tweet isn’t a huge big deal and it’s something people do to say I heard you or end of conversation or a myriad of different things.

For someone like me, who tends to take words very literally, it was nice to see I’m not the only one whose mind goes in that direction – and also, thinking about it now, it’s nice to see that I did eventually get past that and manage to get used to faving tweets without thinking about what the word means! #pedantproblems

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

