“Look at the positive side – you’re alive!” Well, actually…

There’s a computer game I play where you get an extra life for every 100,000 points. I used to get excited about that, but now I’m at the stage of having so many extra lives I know I’m never going to run out, so when there’s an opportunity to sacrifice ammunition for the sake of getting an extra life, I don’t even think about it any more – I know I am going to need that ammunition, and I know that I’m not going to run out of lives.

So, how does this relate to what the policewoman said to me when I had my recent road accident? “Look at the positive side,” she said, “you’re alive!”

And I’m all for looking at the positive in what happened, and thanking God for protecting me from a lot worse: I had only minor injuries and the bruise to my chest has been healing really well, I didn’t need to go to hospital, I didn’t suddenly become a wheelchair user, my car was smashed beyond repair but the windscreen didn’t break, the ambulance turned up quickly, the people who caused the accident were nice and apologetic and admitted fault, the insurance company paid up very swiftly, the accident happened close to home and my husband was in when I phoned so he could come and provide help and moral support – there really is so so so much for me to be thankful for!

But…

The being alive bit – as they say on forms and surveys: N/A – not applicable in my case. You see, a bit like that computer game I was talking about, in real life too I know I don’t need to worry about running out – thanks to Jesus, I know that when I die I won’t really stop living!

And not only that – I know that the life I’ll have after death will be way way better than this one, so really, dying just doesn’t belong on my list of “it could have been a lot worse”.


If you’re reading this and you don’t have that certainty for yourself – you can have it, Jesus’ offer is open to everyone! Anyone who repents and puts their faith in Jesus – it’s not about you being good enough (I’m not! nobody is!) but about you recognising that you are a sinner in need of salvation, and trusting Jesus for that. Do it before it’s too late – my road accident is just one small reminder: none of us know when our time will come.

One thought on ““Look at the positive side – you’re alive!” Well, actually…

  1. Pingback: The sunshine’s gone, but I’m thankful | Meirav's Soapbox

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

