I’d rather go to hell. I hope you don’t mind.

I know you mean well, she said, but I don’t want to be saved. Let’s not talk about spiritual things any more. I’m fine as I am, I’m content with the coping mechanisms I’ve developed and, though you tell me that Jesus is the only one who can help me when the time comes for me to face the Almighty God and be judged – I don’t want this salvation. Can you live with that?

Can I live with it? Yes, of course I can live with it. I live with the fact that many of the people I care about have chosen that road, and that apart from telling them about Jesus and praying for them, I can do nothing to prevent them from continuing on that road. I live with it all the time. I have no choice but to live with it.

Can I live with it and not care? No. Can I live with it and never weep for you? No. Can I live with it and stop praying for you, begging God to have mercy on you and pull you off that destructive path, as he did for me? No, definitely not.

But yes, I will live with it.

And you? How can you live with it? How can you hear God’s offer of salvation and say: no, thanks, I’d rather go to hell?

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

