I wasn’t lying, I was just speaking English

I’m not a liar but I recently found myself saying something that isn’t strictly true. At least, that’s how my inner pedant sees it…

Talking about my recent car accident I found myself saying I’d hurt my leg. As soon as I’d said it I thought: well, actually no, it wasn’t me… I didn’t grab a big stick and bash my leg… My inner pedant says: you didn’t hurt your leg, your leg was hurt but not by you.

But this is the way we talk, and we all know what we really mean – it’s just people like me, who tend to take words very literally, who find it odd. Just as I find it odd when I read news items saying stuff like “he had his car broken into” – to my very literal mind, it sounds like the person in question deliberately arranged for someone to break into his car…

I started wondering how much of this is because in my mother tongue we have different ways of saying these things – ways that seem a lot clearer to me. The way I’d say “I hurt my leg” in Hebrew is, to my mind, the right way round – we have a verb that means “got hurt/injured” and that’s what I’d use. But it isn’t that there isn’t an English equivalent – it wouldn’t be incorrect to say in English “my leg was hurt” or “I got injured”. It’s just that – at least in British everyday usage – it’s more normal to say “I hurt my leg”.

And when it comes to stuff like “he had his car broken into”, it’s even more complicated. In Hebrew we have a way of saying it that makes the people who broke into the car the subjects of the sentence, even though they’re not mentioned – the verb is there on its own, and the subject is implied. You can’t do that in English – the closest I can get to it in English is: someone broke into his car. The thing is that in Hebrew we can say it without having to add “someone”. And saying “someone broke into his car” is placing more emphasis on that someone, and also poses the problem of: was it just one person or more than one? When you don’t actually know who broke into the car, this doesn’t really work very well.

One alternative I can think of is saying: his car was broken into. But that places the emphasis on the car itself, which means less encouragement for the readers to feel empathy for the person who is the victim of this crime. The thing with that trick we have in Hebrew, which is very hard to describe because the whole sentence structure is so different from anything you have in English – the thing with that trick is that though the criminal is the implied subject of the sentence, the emphasis is still on the victim.

So, since you have no way of doing that in English, I can see why newspapers use that phrasing that seems so odd to me: he had his car broken into. It places the focus in the right place – on the person you should be feeling sorry for.

(For those who are super curious, the Hebrew phrase I’m thinking of is: partsu lo la’rechev. The first word is the verb “break into” in third person plural, past tense. The second word is “to him” – it says who this happened to. The third word is “to the car”. It’s a form we use for all kinds of things that are done to someone by someone else, with the someone else unspecified. I never realised how useful it is until I started trying to translate “he had his car broken into”!)

(Just for giggles, I just tried feeding a sentence of this kind into Google Translate. Poor software, I really shouldn’t torture it so… It had no idea what to do with it…)

7 thoughts on “I wasn’t lying, I was just speaking English

  1. אולי עדיף שאגיב בעברית, יהיה לי יותר פשוט:
    דבר ראשון, יש כאן עניין אידיומטי, ואידיום, בהגדרתו, הוא צירוף מילים שמשמעותו אינה מתקבלת מסכום המשמעויות של מרכיביו. יש כל מיני דרגות של אידיומטיזציה, כאן מדובר בדרגה קלה (יחסית לצירופים כגון ‘עשה אוזנו כאפרכסת’.)

    דבר שני, נדמה לי שבביטוי האנגלי, במיוחד אם הוא לקוח מן העיתונות, יש נטייה (אופיינית) לקחת פחות אחריות (משפטית) על הנאמר. לא יודעים מי פרצו, אז לא אומרים. עברית איננה זהירה בהקשרים האלה בכלל. על הסגנון האנגלי יש לפעמים התבדחויות שונות – למשל, על כך שאומרים
    We would like to thank you
    אבל בעצם לא באמת מודים, וכדומה. זה נובע מאיזו נטייה ליצור ריחוק מן הנאמר, ולהתחייב פחות.

    ובנוגע ל
    He had his car broken into
    אני מבינה את זה כאילו הוא מצא את עצמו במצב שבו מכוניתו נפרצה – ולמי שהדברים קורים לו יש כביכול בעלות על המצב שנוצר כתוצאה מכך. השימוש בפועל הבעלות איננו מקרי.

    מקווה שלא שיגעתי אותך. מכירה את הספרים של גיא דויטשר? אני חושבת שאולי תמצאי בהם עניין.

    Like

    • קודם כל, לא, לא שיגעת אותי, ואני שמחה למצוא אנשים שמעניין אותם לחפור בעניינים האלה :-)

      וכן, אלה ביטויים אידיומטיים, מהסוג שגורם למוח שלי מפעם לפעם לעשות עצירת פתאום – ואני יודעת שזה באג במוח שלי, ושלרוב בני תמותה זה ממש לא מהווה בעייה. (וגם לי זה לא ממש מהווה בעייה בדרך כלל – סתם משעשע אותי. כפי שמשעשעים אותי גם דברים כמו הדוגמא שנתת של “היינו רוצים ל…” – מה שכן, כשהייתי חדשה פה לקח לי זמן ללמוד כמה מהשימושים האידיומטיים האלה, ובאמת עניתי ברצינות למישהו בעבודה שנתן לי משהו להדפיס:
      – would you like to type this for me?
      – no
      איכשהו שרדנו את זה…)

      וכן, בעניין הפריצה לאוטו, חלק מהבעייתיות בניסוח היא שלא ידוע מי פרץ לאוטו, ואני אוהבת את איך שבעברית אנחנו יכולים להגיד “פרצו לו לאוטו” בלי שנצטרך לנחש כלום על מי שביצע את הפריצה.

      נ.ב. מקווה שזה יצא טוב – אני עושה פה ניסויים עם קוד הטמל מאחורי הקלעים כדי לשכנע אותו להציג עברית כמו שצריך, נראה לי שמשהו השתנה והקוד שהשתמשתי בו בעבר פתאום לא עובד כמו שצריך. אבל את התגובה שלך הצלחתי לסדר אז אני מקווה שגם שלי תעבוד. אני מציינת את זה רק למקרה שיוצא בלגן מאיזושהי סיבה…

      Like

  2. So, I just took a course about this :)
    I don’t think these are idioms.
    Yes, we do use these weird constructions to make it about the victim. Hebrew does it in (at least) two different ways: 1) with a dative (there’s a very interesting paper about it, Ariel et al. 2015), as in “partsu li la-oto” which actually means “partsu la-oto sheli”, 2) using the equivalent of “I’d hurt my leg”… that is, “Shavarti et ha-regel”. Sure, I didn’t do it to myself, but the event affects me, since it is my leg.

    Like

    • 2) oh wow, I forgot that in Hebrew we also do a kind of “I hurt myself”! yes, “shavarti et ha-regel” is literally saying I broke it, whereas what I’d really mean is: my leg got broken. It always does me good to have reminders that Hebrew isn’t purely logical either, when I’m tempted to paint English as quaintly illogical. Thank you :-)

      1) yes, the use of “partsu li la-oto” instead of “partsu la-oto sheli” is exactly what I was talking about – that it puts the focus on the victim and not on the car.

      and I agree these aren’t actual idioms – they’re just cases of idiomatic usage – natural to native speakers and sometimes interesting/amusing/frustrating for visiting Vulcans like me :-)

      (and yay, nice to see you here!)

      Like

      • You’ll be amazed to see that I even found the way back here! (I spent a few minutes wondering what-was-that-blog-where-I-wrote-a-comment-and-how-do-I-find-it-again)

        Liked by 1 person

        • I’m most impressed :-)

          (you could always click in that box that says “notify me of new comments via email”. it’s not too dangerous to do this on my blog – I don’t get lots of comments here.)

          (alternatively, you can sign up for a WordPress account – it’s free, and you can just sign up for a user name without setting up a blog, and it gives you the option to get notified only of replies to your own comments.)

          Like

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

