Brief thoughts as the Day of Atonement approaches

Almighty God, King of the Universe, I have sinned against you in so many ways… And though I try to do better, I still keep failing you. Love everyone as I love myself? Let’s be honest, I don’t have it in me to do that. I may love some people a little bit, but everyone? As much as I love myself? no, not even close :(

And so I turn again to Psalm 32 and, with the world-famous sinner King David, I give thanks and rejoice that you have provided an atonement for our sins!

Blessed is the one whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered.

Thank you, God, that you gave my forefathers that promise to trust in – the promise of the Messiah who would come and redeem us – and that at the appointed time you did send him, just as you had promised through the prophets.

Thank you, God, that through Jesus we can have the assurance that our sins are covered! Halleluiah!

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

