so what did I mean when I said I had a great time in church?

Just posted this on Google+ and thought I’d put it here too. It’s a conversation with my penguin, but you might like to listen in. (His name is Quentin. He is mostly harmless.)

So, Meirav, when you said you had a great time in church, what did you mean?

Well, I’m glad you asked, Quentin. I realise penguins don’t know what it’s like, so I’m happy to try and fill you in.

You see, Quentin, when a human becomes a follower of Jesus, they become part of a big family that includes all the other humans who follow Jesus, and being in the same place with this family is really meaningful. And that’s part of what I go to church for – to meet and connect with my spiritual family. And we talk to our Father (we call that praying), and we sing songs that express the truth about him and about Jesus, songs that remind us of the truth and songs that express our response to what he’s done for us, so I feel encouraged and uplifted.

Also, when a human becomes a follower of Jesus they love God’s word, the Bible, and in my church we get teaching from the Bible so we can learn and grow. It’s what I think of as spiritual nourishment – I need it, I crave it, I sometimes listen to sermons online because I need more.

So when I said I had a great time in church this evening, I was thinking about all these different things: the singing, the praying, the sermon, the conversations – and communion, which is a really awesome visual reminder of what Jesus did for us. It often brings me to tears – but don’t worry, Quentin, they’re good tears, positive tears, tears of joy and gratitude.

You’d need to know Jesus to be able to appreciate it though.

If you’re a human listening in on my conversation with the penguin – if you don’t know Jesus yet then isn’t it time? He loves us humans so much that he died for us! You really need to get to know him!

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

