Those Christians, they can do what they like and get away with it…

I’d like to talk to you for a minute about this thing I hear people say about Christians: look at them, they can do whatever they like and get away with it… I had someone comment on my blog once who didn’t like it when I talked about the guilt-free life I live, because if you don’t feel guilty then where’s your incentive to do better?

My incentive to do better comes from exactly the same source as my guilt-free life: the sacrifice of Jesus on the cross.

You see, I love Jesus, and I know what it cost him to pay for my sins. My beloved Lord and Saviour died a painful, agonising death so that I could be absolved from guilt! The grace I’ve received is free to me, but it cost him everything! This grace leaves me grateful – and this gratitude drives me to want to live a life that will please him.

Oh, and here’s another thing: this guilt-free life I’m talking about – it’s not that I never feel guilt, it’s that I have the assurance that I’ve been legally declared not guilty before God, so when the time comes for all mankind to stand before him for judgement, I won’t have to pay for what I’ve done: Jesus already has.

Of course I can still feel bad about my sins – and that healthy guilt drives me to confess them to God and ask him to help me do better. Loving God means I want to please him, and I feel bad when I let him down. It’s just that as a sinner saved by grace through faith in Jesus, I know God isn’t going to hold this against me. I get to go to heaven even though I don’t deserve it – and guess what, so can you!

Through Jesus this totally undeserved grace is available to all – no matter what you’ve done, the sacrifice of Jesus on the cross is enough!

If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” (I John 1:8-9)

One thought on “Those Christians, they can do what they like and get away with it…

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

