So thankful!

This is a poem I wrote back in 2002 – I wrote it in Hebrew, and recently translated it into English. I was going through deep stuff at the time – very deep healing of emotional wounds. Jesus is amazing!

“your iniquities have made a separation between you and your God, and your sins have hidden his face from you”
(Isaiah 59:2)

Deep down, oh God, I knew
what I’d done was wrong in your eyes
so how could I turn to you
for the healing I needed so much?

Nobody else knew why
my heart was constantly bleeding
but my own heart knew that I
had killed my baby.

The world offered so many ways
to numb the pain.
I tried everything – sex, drugs, alcohol –
to avoid turning to you in confession.

I kept running, searching,
looking for refuge
but no human being could really help

And God, I had heard,
is a refuge for the righteous –
so where could I go,
sinner that I am?

Jesus is the only remedy
Through him even I am counted as righteous!
He atoned for my sins
Yes, even mine!
And so God turned from judge to refuge
even for me!

“Have I any pleasure in the death of the wicked, declares the Lord God, and not rather that he should turn from his way and live?!”
(Ezekiel 18:23)


and here’s the original poem, for those of you who read Hebrew. (I didn’t translate word for word – it just wouldn’t flow as a poem. But since it’s my own, I felt free to rewrite some parts of it.)

“כי אם עוונותיכם היו מבדילים ביניכם לבין אלוהיכם וחטאותיכם הסתירו פנים מכם משמוע”
(ישעיהו נ”ט 2)

עמוק בפנים ידעתי
שֶמה שעשיתי הוא רע בעיניך, אלוהי
לכן לא יכולתי לפנות אליך
לתת לך לחבוש את פצעַי

וסביבי אנשים לא ידעו מדוע
לבי שותת דם
לא ידעו שבפנים אני יודעת
שהרגתי אדם

העולם הציע דרכים רבות
לשכוח את כל כאבַי
ניסיתי הכל – סקס, סמים, אלכוהול
רק שלא אאלץ לפנות אליך
ולהתוודות על חטאַי

ברחתי ממקום למקום
מאדם לאדם
חיפשתי היכן, אצל מי,
אוכל לשכב ולנוח וללקק את פצעַי

בשום מקום לא מצאתי מחסה אמיתי
שום אדם לא יכול היה באמת להבין אותי
רק פלסטרים יכלו להציע לי
אך פצעַי שתתו דם

וה’ אלוהינו מפלט ומחסה לצדיקים,
כך שמעתי,
ואני אדם חוטא –
לאן אלך אני?

ישוע הוא התרופה היחידה
דרכו גם אני נהיית צדיקה
הוא כיפר על חטאַי,
כן גם על חטאַי,
וכך הופך ה’ אלוהים
משופט למקלט
גם עבורי.

“החפץ אחפץ מות רשע נאם ה’
הלוא בשובו מדרכיו וחיה”
(יחזקאל י”ח 23)

4 thoughts on “So thankful!

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

