Kindness for an ulterior motive?

And now we come to the part of the programme where Meirav argues with internet memes…

Because really… I’ve just seen a meme saying that when an atheist is kind to you it’s not because they’re trying to get to heaven. As if…

Ok, I grant you that there are religions based on that sort of thing – where people try to earn their way into heaven by doing good deeds. Which, from where I’m looking, is sad because, while doing good is not a bad thing (obvs), they’re going to be disappointed in the end.

Me? I’m a Christian. I know I don’t have to do anything to earn my way to heaven. I know I couldn’t if I tried. My salvation is secure thanks to Jesus, who died on the cross to atone for the sins of all mankind – anyone who repents and believes in him gets a free pass to heaven!

So when I show kindness to someone, you can be absolutely sure that’s not because I want to get to heaven. I’ve already got that visa stamped in my passport, and it’s got nothing whatsoever to do with my behaviour.

“For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.”

Ephesians 2:8-9

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

