not good enough (but it’s ok)

I’ve had a blog post stewing in my mind for a while, waiting for the moment when I could write it properly, working on an image to go with it and thinking I should try and make a better one, but that doesn’t really go so well with talking about how imperfect I am…

So here’s the imperfect image I made, 

and here’s what I wanted to say:

There’s this thing I often see on social media, a message coming from a desire to encourage, telling people: you’re good enough.

And I know different. I know I’m not good enough, I know none of us are. But it’s ok!

The Bible says “all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” (Romans 3:23)

But thankfully that’s not the end – the next verse says: “and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus”

So you see why I said it’s ok? I’m not good enough, but I don’t need to be! Thanks to the sacrifice of Jesus on the cross, I’m treated by God as if I was perfect! And you can have this too – you don’t have to keep striving to become what you’re not, you don’t have to climb any stairway to heaven, you don’t have to perform any rituals or do mental or spiritual exercises to somehow become good enough – and you don’t have to stand in front of the mirror and keep repeating to yourself “I’m good enough”… I want to encourage you to let go of all that and face the truth – because that’s where you’ll find true freedom!

The truth, the truly liberating truth, is this: none of us are good enough, but it’s ok, it’s sorted – acknowledge your not-good-enoughness before God and put your faith in Jesus, and you will be totally loved and accepted by God, as if you were perfectly good, like Jesus!

There’s no stairway leading up to heaven – Jesus is the way, he is God come down to us!

We all, like sheep, went astray; we turned, each one, to his own way; yet YHWH laid on him the guilt of all of us.
(Isaiah 53:6)

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

