Are you ok?

I’m fine, she’d say when asked

I’m fine, she’d tell herself

I’m fine – because this pain and mess and everything is normal, right? This is how life is. Everybody knows that. We just have to cope, to find ways to numb the pain, to keep going despite the despair, to live with ourselves despite the bad stuff we’ve done – telling ourselves that hey, we’re not as bad as some…

I’m fine, she’d say – but she wasn’t fine. She was just finding ways to numb the pain.

But Jesus said:

come to me, you who are weary and heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

He took her in his arms and cleaned her up and healed her wounds and said: you’re mine now.

And she found that it’s possible to be really fine, not just pretending, not just putting on a brave face and soldiering on despite all the mess and pain and chaos inside, but knowing real peace and joy in your heart because the Son of God has cleansed you and given you new life and put his seal of love upon you, and if the Son sets you free you will be free indeed.

 


 

If you haven’t experienced this yet, I want you to know that the love of Jesus is available to you too – no matter who you are, no matter what you’ve done, no matter how messed up your life is or even if it isn’t particularly messed up. We are all equal in God’s eyes: all of us sinners in need of the Saviour, and in his sacrifice on the cross Jesus provided atonement for all the sins of all humankind once and for all – you just need to repent and turn to him. He died for you, so that you can have life!

 


 

You may be reading this and thinking, “That’s all fine but it’s not for me, I’m Jewish.”
Well, so am I.
And, more importantly, so is Jesus, and so were the first people who believed in him.
Find out more at http://www.jewsforjesus.org/answers

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

