today’s rambling

So yesterday I got kind of ranty in a face to face situation for a change. It wasn’t pretty.

And I cried afterwards, because I was letting God down and it kills me when I do that. Because I love him!

Here’s a thing many people don’t get about what it’s like to be a Christian (by which I mean someone who’s put their faith in Jesus for their salvation, not someone who just goes through the motions): when you’ve been saved and reborn, you grieve over your sin because you love God and you know how much it grieves him. My confession isn’t because I’m scared of punishment – I’m saved, my sins have all been atoned for by the blood of Jesus! My confession is because I really don’t want to keep sinning, because I’m so grateful for God’s grace and mercy and I know Jesus had to suffer so much to atone for my sin, I want to live a life that shows my gratitude!

The Bible says there is no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus – I am considered not guilty in God’s court, because Jesus took the punishment once and for all, for all who would believe in him.

So when I sin, I don’t have to do anything to earn God’s forgiveness – Jesus has already done it! All I have to do is ask. Which is awesomely freeing – but it doesn’t leave me feeling indifferent, it doesn’t mean I can just keep sinning and not care, because I know what it cost God, I know the Father sent his Son to bleed and die so that I could be forgiven! Which leaves me grateful, and deeply wanting to live a life that would please God.

And so, again and again, I turn to God for the forgiveness and the cleansing that he’s promised me. And God is 100% faithful, and keeps his promises.

Halleluiah!

“If we claim not to have sin, we are deceiving ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we acknowledge our sins, then, since he is trustworthy and just, he will forgive them and purify us from all wrongdoing.”

I John 1:8-9

http://bible.com/1275/1jn.1.8-9.CJB

4 thoughts on “today’s rambling

Questions? Thoughts? Talk to me - I don't bite :)

